Did you know?

01Mar11

Did you know that any pieces of dirt as well as clotted blood collect at the end of the barrel of your syringe when you are shooting up? There are real dangers connected to shooting this shit into your vein.

Nowadays, whenever I shoot up, I always leave a smidgen of dope in the barrel of the syringe to keep impurities out of my veins (that is, I don’t push the plunger all the way to the end). What kinds of impurities exist in a shot? It depends on a lot of things, such as the kind of water you use to cook up your shot, the kinds of chemicals your dealer has added to the dope, how the dope was prepared, where it was stored, the kind of surface you prepared your dope on, etc.

Just so you all know, I am not basing this information on any research. I found out that impurities travel to the back of the barrel of a syringe by accident. I was trying to empty an old syringe full of water that seemed to have some kind of growth within it. As I started to push the plunger, most of this growth, which looked a lot like fungus coincidentally, remained at the back of the barrel. I tried the same experiment by adding a bit of topsoil in the water and again, this stuff accumulated at the end of the barrel. The same thing happened when I replicated the experiment without a needle at the end of the barrel. I did this to prove that the dirt didn’t stay in the barrel because its exit was blocked by the needle.

I wish I had known about this a long time ago. Although there is no research about this, I believe that many injection drug users can avoid a lot of problems related to injecting, including endocarditis, cotton fever and abscesses. As this information has not been researched, I don’t have proven strategies to offer to avoid the kinds of problems I discussed earlier; that will come down the road. But for now, you can do what I do: Don’t push your plunger all the way down when shooting up. If your shot is too small and you can’t afford to leave anything behind, simply add some water and you’ll have the same option.

No Responses Yet to “Did you know?”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

